Question on cooking oil

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rick32

Assistant Cook
Hi newbie here. The wife got me a new deep fryer. The kids love chicken wings. (buffalo wings are big in my area) i was wondering what the best cooking oil is to use healthwise. On my first batch i used crisco shortening. I know theres peanut oil, olive oil and the like but what is the best as far as flavor and health? I know opinions vary, just looking for a referance point.....Thanks:)

Hey rick!

Welcome to DC!! I personally prefer peanut followed closely by canola!
Fried foods are not really bad for you. BAD fried foods are bad for you.

Enjoy!

Try some peanut oil.

If you fry the food at a hot enough of a temperature little oil is going to get into the food.

i echo the sentiments of my fellow dc'ers
peanut is the way to go
high burning point
less smoking
longer life (of oil)
foaming is a sign of oil degradation

I prefer Canola oil for deep frying. It is a neutral oil with a high smoke point, and it is less expensive than peanut oil.

I use a mixture of Vegetable and Olive Oil blend. Doesn't last long but I have a large supply of it ( a few leftover bottles at my workplace ). Couldnt turn it down, it wasnt being used.

I actually prefer Peanut, tastes better than blends and lasts a bit longer.

Peanut oil, here. I like the flavour. Canola oil is fine, but more flavour neutral.

Hi, rick. Welcome to DC.

Vegetable shortening is not a good choice. It has a low smoke point and is high in trans fats.

As mentioned, neutral flavored oils with high smoke points are best. Peanut, canola and corn oils are all good candidates.

Olive oil has a nice flavor but also has a lower smoke point. Vegetable oil is a mystery oil as you cannot be sure what's in it and therefore what the smoke point is.

Uncle Bob said:
Fried foods are not really bad for you. BAD fried foods are bad for you.