Question regarding deep frying

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Basherrr

Assistant Cook
Hello. I just received a Euro-Pro deep fat fryer for my birthday! Thanks :) I am relatively new to cooking in general. Only 25 and a guy and experimenting in the kitchen. I felt it was necessary to upgrade to a self-contained frying unit for safety reasons, as well as temperature assurance. My problem is that everything that I coat with a batter sticks to the basket. Especially when I am making onion rings and stuff, the batter drips below the basket and expands underneath making a mess when I try and remove them. Is there some sort of solution to this? I was thinking of just lining the bottom of the basket with aluminum foil. Would that work? Thanks.

Mike

At my work when we have to put something into the fryer than needs a wet batter coating, (fish for example) I have to dip them into the fryer as much as I can without burning my hand or touching the fish to the basket and hold for about 15 seconds.

Welcome to DC.

See, that's exactly what I don't want to do :/ It's a relatively small fryer and dipping things like onion rings seems almost impossible. Also, my penchant for drinking while in the kitchen could lead to terrible results.

Bahaha.
You could use a pair of tongs or something, and take a bunch of onion rings at once.

Last edited:
Coincidentally, I just put "metal tongs" on my shopping list just a half hour ago. LoLz :P But what do you think about the aluminum foil concept? I'm not going to give myself alzheimer's with that, am I?

Gobo is right on. That is the way to do it. If you are making onion rings then try using a chopstick to lower them into the oil.

Also, my penchant for drinking while in the kitchen could lead to terrible results.
:LOL::ROFLMAO::LOL: