Question to fellow beginning cooks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

what do you want to know the most as a fellow beginning cook

• What tools to use?

Votes: 1 6.7%
  • What are the techniques to learn to cook like a chef?

Votes: 12 80.0%
  • How to use specific tools properly?

Votes: 4 26.7%

• Total voters

flavorfull

Assistant Cook
I'm new to the trying to learn how to become a good cook and impress my friends, family etc. I'm also the type who goes overboard trying to learn all the ins and outs of what it is I'm focusing on, which now if learning to cook.

So I want to see what other beginner cooks are wanting to learn.

Here's my list of things that I'm trying to focus on.
1. Which tools for cooking are necessary?
2. What staple foods and seasoning should be in my cabinet?
3. What new tools out there make cooking easier and are musts to have?
4. What meals are easy to make but will look like i must be a chef to create and will impress my family and friends?

Beginning cooks, what else are you searching for and where are you finding this info?

thanks,
Jonathan

Welcome to DC Jonathan! A lot of the answers to your points are going to depend on your choice of cuisine, eg Asian cuisine requires different equipment, staples, seasonings etc than Italian. Both have easy meals but can be impressive, as can other cuisines. Guide us, so that we can guide you and your fellow beginners.

Hi, I guess I would start off leaning towards the Spanish style of cuisine, I like the flavors and I love SPanish tapas style resturants.

hi there..
I'm a beginner also. Always ask questions. I get in my mind what I want to cook and then I search and search, I make a thread for suggestions. I decide what the basics are of the recipe and then decide which flavors to incorporate. i don't always go with the first suggestion or recipe I find. I keep digging and make it my own.