Recipe Doubling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

silvercbx

Assistant Cook
Hi, newbie here (to cooking, too)
Is there anywhere here that tells you how to double a recipe? Or half it? Or 1-1/2 it. I have a very good pancake recipe that needs to be halved again (1-1/2) but feel that just taking 1/2 and adding it to the whole isn't quite right. For instance, I don't think I want to just evenly modify the baking powder. I don't know if there is a fixed formula somewhere or each modification has to be done individually. Or by ingredients........or what?
Thanks for the pointers.
:chef:

First of , Welcome to DC. This place has all the answers to any question you could ask.

Chief, yoohoo where are you? A pancake question needs your attention! He will be along shortly, I am sure! :angel:

Hi, newbie here (to cooking, too)
Is there anywhere here that tells you how to double a recipe? Or half it? Or 1-1/2 it. I have a very good pancake recipe that needs to be halved again (1-1/2) but feel that just taking 1/2 and adding it to the whole isn't quite right. For instance, I don't think I want to just evenly modify the baking powder. I don't know if there is a fixed formula somewhere or each modification has to be done individually. Or by ingredients........or what?
Thanks for the pointers.
:chef:

Why can't you just multiply? If you mixed the ingredients for a regular recipe then mixed a second identical batch and combined them, they would still be right.

For baking recipes, the key is to keep the relationships between the flour and the other ingredients. So if the sugar is 50% of the flour in the original recipe, it should be 50% of the flour in the increased recipe. Same for the other ingredients.

e.g. 100 gr flour and 50 gr sugar (sugar is 50% of the flour). Increase the flour to 150 gr. and the sugar has to be increased to maintain the 50% relationship - 75 gr.