"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 02-02-2016, 07:12 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Recipe specifies stewing steak: Braising vs Casserole steak

I just bought a Crockpot and I'm following a slow cooker recipe for Goulash which specifies stewing steak. I'm still a novice cook and don't really know what that is. I was buying the ingredients in M&S and the tannoy announced the closure of the store in 5 minutes. So I didn't have a chance to look it up on phone so I grabbed one pack of braising steak and one pack of casserole.
Which of the two should I use as a substitute for stewing steak?

Many thanks!

Old 02-02-2016, 07:19 AM   #2
Sous Chef

This might help.....

The Food Lab: Follow the Rules for the Best All-American Beef Stew | Serious Eats

Old 02-02-2016, 07:40 AM   #3
Assistant Cook

Thanks - I should point out I'm British and the American naming conventions confuse matters somewhat. I still don't know if to use the braising or casserole steak.
Old 02-02-2016, 08:21 AM   #4
Chef Extraordinaire

Hi. This might help you figure it out: http://www.jamieoliver.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=75353
Old 02-02-2016, 11:02 AM   #5
Executive Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by Distorted Vision View Post
I just bought a Crockpot and I'm following a slow cooker recipe for Goulash which specifies stewing steak. I'm still a novice cook and don't really know what that is. I was buying the ingredients in M&S and the tannoy announced the closure of the store in 5 minutes. So I didn't have a chance to look it up on phone so I grabbed one pack of braising steak and one pack of casserole.
Which of the two should I use as a substitute for stewing steak?

Many thanks!
(First of all, I'm in the UK and the "technical" terms I use may mean something else in the US. Meat is cut slightly differently in the US & the UK so what seems to be the same cut sometimes isn't.)