Restaurant vs. Home cooking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

erehweslefox

Sous Chef
Hey friends,

So the point of this post is that cooking at home is very different than in a restaurant. A home cook has some advantages, a chef in a restaurant has others, but they are very different.

So I'm a writer, and a teacher. I have a BA in Lit, and two MA degrees, MA in lit, and MFA in Creative Writing. If you know anyone that doesn't come from old wealth with multiple lib art degrees, you must know, I have spent more time than I would like in the restaurant biz. It is that combination of allowing a decent income, flexible hours (work lots of hours, but you can sort of choose them within reason), and mobility that artists, writers and students take advantage of. I've worked back and front of house, and in situations ranging from fine dining to diner.

The other day we had a couple over for dinner who are academics, and also are a little more old money, they didn't work their way through school, but have expensive tastes. One of the things that they said upon being fed, and were serious and it was a compliment, was 'This is awesome, you should open up a small restaurant."

I appreciate this as the compliment it was, they were basically saying, 'heck this food is good enough I'd pay money for it', but it also represents a fundamental misunderstanding of the difference between home and commercial cooking.

The line chef is constrained by the fact that she has to produce, not four portions of a dish, but forty over the course of a night, at the same quality. Usual in a restaurant setting, the protein and sauce are prepared separate and combined at plating. Makes sense, right, you can have one guy making up the chicken, another tending the sauces. In the brigade generally you have one person working on one part, and then they are all put together and served.