"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking
Old 03-28-2011, 07:46 PM   #1
Assistant Cook
Romantic meal?

Hi all,

I'm 18, which means i'm relatively new to the kitchen (I know some of you, by this time have been in the kitchen for years).

I have hosted two dinner parties, both of which I am happy to say were successes.

So why am I posting?

It's rather simple.

I'm having a girl to stay and I don't know what to cook. I could have looked up "romantic meals" on google. However google's results wouldn't have taken the key factors into account.

She gets off at eight, so i'm going to need something ready for when we walk in the door.

I'm not a rich man i'm afraid so I need something relatively easy on the wallet.

I'm new to the kitchen, I need something that I can't screw up easily!

I'll have free time on my hands so if anyone can also recommend an easy dessert, that'd be just peachy!

Zathorious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 07:50 PM   #2
Master Chef
It doesn't matter what you cook. It's the ambiance you need to create. Having pizza can be romantic.

roadfix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 07:58 PM   #3
Certified Pretend Chef
What you cook is less important than the ambiance, as roadfix said. Candles, mood lighting, appropriate music a nicely dressed person (that would be you) greeting her at the door with a flower.

That said, we're all strangers here and don't have clue what this woman likes to eat that you can cook. So don't ask us, ask her.
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 08:20 PM   #4
Master Chef