Salt and chilli powder Quantity

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

smile2006

Assistant Cook
Hi,
I am new to cooking I Want to atleast now approximately how much salt and chilli powder or chillies they put in spicy dishes.please tell me which all vegetables consume more salt and which all wont .Any suggestions will be appreciated

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi, smile. Welcome to DC.

Unfortunately, that's not an answerable question. There are too many variables that effect the answer:

1. How salty do you like your food, as salty as I do as less salty as my SO does?
  2. How hot do you like your food? I like it hotter than SO does
  3. What dish are you making - the proportions may vary according to what you are cooking. Chili is different from a posole.
  4. What kinds of chiles are you using. Very hot ones vs. milder ones. You may use only a hlf a habanero or several jalapenos.
You get the idea.

If you're trying to develop a recipe, look at an existing recipe to get an idea of proportions. Then make adjustments, adding or subtracting salt and different kinds of chiles, to get to where you want to go.