"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking
Click Here to Login

Old 01-28-2017, 12:23 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Semi-technical Q regarding choice of fat to cook in

Hello there; i'm a relative newbie to cooking and have been reading various cook books on French & Italian cooking. I can't seem to find alternative reasons for sometimes gently cooking chicken breasts (for example) in butter, sometimes in olive oil, and sometimes in (far less healthy) vegetable oil? Are there some 'classic' reasons and situations why you might use one over the other - ignoring the health reasons for the time being! (which would suggest cooking in expeller-pressed coconut oil i guess)
Many thanks indeed.
John

john_coburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2017, 02:40 PM   #2
Assistant Cook

Because the human body has evolve to process all of oil and animal fats where is vegetable oil is something that is left over from the 1950s I don't trust it personally

FeralBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2017, 02:56 PM   #3
Assistant Cook

Fully agreed on vegetable oil being rubbish...my question was more: why might one use butter over olive oil, or indeed olive oil over butter, in certain circumstances. eg. caramelizing onions: butter or olive oil? gently browning a chicken breast: butter or olive oil...? etc.
john_coburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2017, 02:58 PM   #4
Assistant Cook

I guess the temperature there trying to seer at has a lot to do with it ,some people like brown butter some don't
FeralBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2017, 03:17 PM   #5
Chef Extraordinaire

Any oil made from vegetable matter is vegetable oil.

Olive, corn, coconut are all types of vegetable oil.
Old 01-28-2017, 03:52 PM   #6
Chef Extraordinaire

Quote:
Originally Posted by john_coburg View Post