Semi-technical Q regarding choice of fat to cook in

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

john_coburg

Assistant Cook
Hello there; i'm a relative newbie to cooking and have been reading various cook books on French & Italian cooking. I can't seem to find alternative reasons for sometimes gently cooking chicken breasts (for example) in butter, sometimes in olive oil, and sometimes in (far less healthy) vegetable oil? Are there some 'classic' reasons and situations why you might use one over the other - ignoring the health reasons for the time being! (which would suggest cooking in expeller-pressed coconut oil i guess)
Many thanks indeed.
John

Because the human body has evolve to process all of oil and animal fats where is vegetable oil is something that is left over from the 1950s I don't trust it personally

Fully agreed on vegetable oil being rubbish...my question was more: why might one use butter over olive oil, or indeed olive oil over butter, in certain circumstances. eg. caramelizing onions: butter or olive oil? gently browning a chicken breast: butter or olive oil...? etc.

I guess the temperature there trying to seer at has a lot to do with it ,some people like brown butter some don't

Fully agreed on vegetable oil being rubbish...my question was more: why might one use butter over olive oil, or indeed olive oil over butter, in certain circumstances. eg. caramelizing onions: butter or olive oil? gently browning a chicken breast: butter or olive oil...? etc.

Vegetable oil is not a big deal; as jennyema noted, olive and coconut oils are both types of vegetable oil.