Sending food care packages cross country?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

emmyloo

Assistant Cook
Hello,
I'm new to these forums and thought you all might be able to help me.

The son of some friends of mine is in the hospital after a very serious accident which has left him paralyzed. He will likely be in rehab for 6 months to a year. His mom is staying with him while his younger brother and dad are at home many miles away. I'd love to send the younger brother and dad some homecooked meals as I've heard they are not good cooks! I have no experience with sending food and don't want them to get packages they can't use.

I thought about sending almost-prepared meals that they could just heat or put together - maybe something like uncooked pasta and a jar of homemade sauce. However, I also have no experience in canning or preserving! In your experience, what packages and ships well? Cost is also a factor because I don't have much money to pay for packages that are really heavy or have to be refrigerated.

I just feel like this is one small thing I can do to help them out. Thanks so much for your help and if you are the praying kind, please remember the young man (Robert) in your prayers. Thank you. :)

I would send them gift certificates for local chain restaurants/grocery stores instead. They could go out, or pick up chicken and other deli stuff. I have shipped jams before, they are heavy so I use a prepaid shipping box, weight doesn't matter.
You could ship cookies, brownies, that sort of thing.
For the money, your best bet is the gift certificates.
You could also find out if they have a church group or some other group that might be bringing meals to them, and then contribute $$ to them.

I agree with Wyogal 100%.