Should I buy a cook book to eat healthier?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MatrixGravity

Assistant Cook
I am an amateur cook. I don't really know too much, but I'd like to learn how to cook simple healthy meals. I was wondering if a cook book would teach me how to do that. Learn what products to buy, and how to prepare nutritional dishes,etc. I just want to eat healthier. Every single time I go to my local supermarket, I wander the aisles for hours never knowing what to buy because I simply do not know what to eat. I've recently started buying strictly whole grain and I think thats good but I can't live off of whole grain bread and whole grain spaghetti. That is just unacceptable. I just want to learn how to prepare great meals. Every time I go to my local Applebee's, I wish I could create something as delicious as what they serve there.

A usual dinner for me consists of Mashed Potato's with a side of smoked salmon. A usual breakfast consists of a bowl of organic cereal. I just don't think thats enough at all..

Eliminate heavily processed foods with tons of unrecognizable ingredients.

Make fresh vegetables (or frozen) the largest part of your meals. Whole food, or food in its natural form is best for you, so try to stick to foods that are as close to being what they were naturally to begin with, not processed with a lot of unnatural ingredients.

Choose healthy fats like olive oil, and replace unhealthy fats with that. When you want butter, eat butter not margarine, margarine still in most cases has hydrogenated fats in it (even when they tout "no trans fats per serving").

You are on the right track with whole grains. Shop the perimeter of the store, that is where you find the fresh meat, fresh veg, fresh dairy etc. Go down the aisles just to supplement what you have already bought.