Slow Cookers

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gravy Queen

Head Chef
I'm new to slow cookers (I recently won one in a competition :)).

Not looking for specific recipes, more tried and tested dishes that work well in slow cookers, and any favourite hints or tips.

My biggest success so far has been a Boeuf Bourgignon stew - that was really good, cooked for 6 hours and I like that the oven is free so I could make a cake too (always a bonus!). :yum:

Any ideas gratefully received. :yum:

'morning griddled quorn
if you like "pulled" pork,beef,ham.lamb etc just rub your chosen joint of meat(get's better dunn'it?)with your favourite rub/marinade chuck it in the slow cooker,NO ADDED LIQUID,lid on,on low all day,done:yum:!!
the juices in the meat will produce enough liquid for the cooking & a pretty darn good base for your gravy.....ermmm gravy:cool:

i like to quarter a few onions and put them under the meat (as harry described) to add a bit of liquid and some more flavour for the drippings.

the best dish that i make in the slow cooker utilizes the leftover bone and meat from a holiday ham to make split pea and ham soup.

i'll see if i can find the recipe.

btw, on a traffic light, what does the yellow light mean?

This is really good and super easy in the slow cooker. I first saw it in one of my slow cooker's recipe leaflets.

Pot Roasted Pork Loin

Rub boneless pork loin roast with s&p. Stab meat and insert slivers of a garlic clove in the slits. Slice an onion and put in bottom of CP. Throw in loin along with another sliced onion, a couple of bay leaves, a whole clove, 1/2 cup water and a T. of soy sauce.

Cook on low 10 hours, or on high for 5. Slice and serve. No prior browning needed, unless you want to.

Last edited: