Slow cooking and tasteless meat

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rogertb

Assistant Cook
Hi chaps, I'm a reasonably competent amateur and really enjoy cooking, I have a slow cooker and somtimes use it for a bit of lamb or anything, sometimes a slow roast, whatever, anyway .... too often, in the slow cooker, I end up with deliciously tasty "cooking liquid" but tasteless meat. Of course this must be down to timing but oten recipes say "cook for hours" .... there must be a compromise between tenderness and taste surely ?

It could be from the cut of meat you use. Some cuts are best in slow cooking situations while others are best for a quick hot cook. If you're using the proper cuts, longer cooking will benefit both taste and tenderness.

You might be using too much liquid for the amount of meat you're using. And as Andy said, tougher cuts of meat, like pork shoulder and chuck roast, do well in a long cook. I think the recipes often call for too long a cooking time, or too big a range, because lots of people want to "set it and forget it." Eight or more hours - even six sometimes - is too long and cooks all the flavor out. So make sure you're using the right cuts and try reducing the cooking time.

All that said ;) there isn't much I slow-cook these days. I like to monitor the food while it's cooking so I can make adjustments. If you can, cook a big batch on your day off, cool and refrigerate it and reheat the next day, or during the following week. Long-cooked foods often taste better after resting anyway.

You can overcook anything with a variety of methods. A slow cooker has no monopoly on this.

As has been pointed out, some cuts of meats do well with a long, slow cook. Others, not so much. To maximize flavor, you should brown the meat before adding to the slow cooker (along with any accumulated juices). This is the same as with any other cooking method.