"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > General Cooking

Old 04-12-2009, 09:34 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Smokey Skillet

I'm still a beginner cook. I've been cooking for my family and when grilling steak and, what I made tonight, salmon. I noticed that there is a point in which things get really smokey. Sometimes, I have to open all the windows and doors. Is it because the cooking oil I used has reached it's smoking point? Should I lower the heat at this point?

Old 04-12-2009, 09:38 PM   #2
Executive Chef

What oil are you using? That's nearly always the issue. You need to use an oil with a high smoke point and lower your temp on your pan. It's also about the pan. What kind of pan are you using?

Old 04-12-2009, 09:40 PM   #3
Assistant Cook

I was using olive oil and an All-Clad Iron Skillet. Should I have used canola oil? So, when it happens lower the heat on my pan huh?
Old 04-12-2009, 09:42 PM   #4
Chief Eating Officer

Cooking steaks inside on a pan will create a ton of smoke. If it doesn't then you are not doing it right

I would use an oil with a higher smoke point than olive oil, but even so it is going to smoke. You don't want to turn your heat down because you want that high heat to get that great crust.
Old 04-12-2009, 09:53 PM   #5
Executive Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by marvinq View Post
I was using olive oil and an All-Clad Iron Skillet. Should I have used canola oil? So, when it happens lower the heat on my pan huh?
Olive Oil has a low smoke point. There are many more oils that have a higher smoke point. I would definitely use canola over olive oil for cooking anything that need high heat.
Old 04-12-2009, 10:00 PM   #6
Senior Cook

Send a message via ICQ to Billdolfski Send a message via AIM to Billdolfski Send a message via MSN to Billdolfski Send a message via Yahoo to Billdolfski
Quote:
Originally Posted by GB View Post