Spices/Herbs - rules for which/where?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jeninga75

Sous Chef
I apologize if this is not the correct area so please move if necessary.

So, as the title mentions... spices. I just spent about 20 minutes searching about different spices and most of the information I've come across has to deal with where the spice originated and what the spice comes from (as far as the plant, etc.)

One of my weaknesses of my learning to cook are spices. Sure, I can follow a recipe and add a teaspoon of majoram or a pinch of thyme... but what I want to know is when creating a something from ingredients I have on hand for a quick meal, what spice matches what meat, vegatable, etc.

I believe I'm a pretty good cook... but I believe I can be better when I learn what bold spices I can add to make things even better. Salt and pepper are a given. I can usually throw around some cumin when I'm making my chicken chili. Enough about that though...

What kind of spices do you pair with what kind of ingredients? I love fish, shellfish, pork, chicken, beef, lamb, veggies... I love casseroles and stews... I love spicy to the point where I'm fanning myself. Two things I do not like are cilantro and mustard. Yes, I've experienced both numerous times and I do not like them in any context.

So please! What spice do you feel is necessary to make a dish? Give me some inspiration and insentive to create new and wonderful meals! :chef:

:)Go here and check the second row for info on what spices/herbs go with what kinds of food.Just remember these are suggestions and you dont want to use them all at once
kitchen charts

Hey man, I would check out the book Culinary Artistry

It is all about pairing foods with complimentary foods...what seasoning go with what ect.