Starting to cook and experiment

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

idya

Assistant Cook
Hi I'm a college student and recently moved into an apartment with a couple friends. I've always liked cooking but I basically only knew how to cook foods that you shouldn't eat everyday such as burgers steak pasta etc.

I watch cooking shows often nowadays and noticed that they mention mixing proteins and acids (or something like that i think it was chicken and pineapple) they said this was a basic mistake that beginners make.

whats the deal in mixing certain types of foods with others? does it make the meat taste different or "ruin" it?

also what would be some good combination in making dishes (such as mixing citrus with ____)

thanks a lot:chef:

I can't imagine what they were talking about. Acids will begin to break down the meat which is the basis for most marinades. However leaving some meats especially fish in an acid marinade too long will cook them. That's the only problem that I can see.

Idya, they must have been talking about fresh pineapple specifically. Fresh pineapple does strange things, because of the enzymes in it, which is not true of other fruits. It brings to mind one of my worst cooking disasters trying to combine shrimp, fresh pineapple, bell pepper, onion Kabobs on the grill for company!! I poured the fresh pineapple juice over the Kabobs about a half hr before grilling, and all of the beautiful shrimp were ruined, and I mean ruined!! Other than fresh pineapple juice, I agree with Joesfolk.