Stir Fry - Help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pdx_robert

Assistant Cook
I am an amateur cook who enjoys trying new recipes.

It seems as though, however, I am HOPELESS at any kind of beef stir fry.

Every time, without exception, no matter how thin I slice the beef or how hot I make the pan, instead of the beef becoming brown with slight bits of char, it ends up turning a brownish grey as it begins to 'boil' in its own juices as oppose to fry.

The latest effort was last night...I was making a beef stir fry that I found in a Whole 30 cookbook. I marinated 1 lb of thinly sliced skirt steak in 1 tablespoon fish sauce, 2 table spoons coconut amino and one tablespoon of sesame oil. I put 1 tablespoon of ghee into a very hot cast iron skillet and dropped the meat into it and quickly spread it around, per what the recipe called for.

Within minutes, the meat was nearly submerged by the juices of the melted fat from the steak and/or the marinade and was basically being boiled instead of frying. It was gross and I threw the whole thing away.

Same thing happens when I try to make Lomo Saltado.

Is there a secret of some sort on how to stir fry beef?

Help!

Hi Robert. Welcome.

I think the problem is that you try to cook too much at one time. If you dump a large amount of cold or room temp meat into a pan, it cools down the pan and prevents the quickness's browning you are looking for.

First, heat the CI skillet very hot-5 minutes on a burner set on high. Then add your fat and a smaller amount of meat. Stir-fry that meat and remove it to a plate then repeat.

The combination of a super hot skillet and smaller amounts of meat will improve your chances of getting the result you want.

I use a carbon steel wok and have to cook stir-fry ingredients in batches then add them all back in to finish with the sauce.