Strengths and Weaknesses

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Selkie

Executive Chef
Each of us have preferences and things we avoid when it comes to cooking a particular food group or style. This thread would get pretty lengthy if we listed everything we could cook, but what I've started off with are just my strengths and weaknesses. For instance:

Strengths:
Breads - I bake some sort of bread (biscuits, dumplings, baguettes, artisan bread, tortillas, pita bread, cream puffs, johnny cakes, pizza, etc.) several times a week.

Asian - While I still consider myself a beginner, I've been cooking Asian dishes for more than 30 years.

Seafood - Because it's so easy to cook and make it look elegant during special occasions.

Weaknesses:
Desserts - I love pies and make more than a dozen each year, but cakes, cupcakes, cookies, brownies, etc. are something I may try only once every 5 years or so.

Mexican/South West - With the exception of chili, most Mexican and South West cooking eludes me. Maybe because I'm not a spicy/chili pepper fan.

BBQ - I try, and I really like it, but in general BBQ is best made by people who have the patience to make it tender without burning it to a cinder.

What are yours?

Strengths

Mexican
Italian

Weakness

Pie crust and
Omelets

I just CANT make those 2 things no matter how hard I try. :(

Strengths:

Pastry
Baking (with the exception of cream puffs choux escapes me)
Down home cooking
MEAT

Weaknesses:

Presentation - no patience for art on a plate
Asian food - I can stir fry but no one else is very adventurous here so no practice for me

Strengths:

Traditional European - Spanish, French, Italian are my favorite stuff
Inventive side dishes
Adventurous - Have played with about every cuisine, and where I live there is access to ton's of "unusual" ingredients, particularly Asian.

Weaknesses:

Desserts - no interest, ergo no practice.