Why Salt Makes Things Sweeter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Interesting piece of information, Late Night. Intuitively I've put a "touch" of salt in things that, from reading the recipe, would seem to be perked up by adding salt. It has been my cooking experience that a whole dish will come more alive by even the tiniest bit of salt. This applies to sweets, too.

Let me add that I've never been much of a salter. When I prepare a meal that calls for salt, I'll begin with about half called for in the recipe, taste and see what I think. May add more, may not. I rarely salt at the table.

I've been cooking for 60 years and there are lots of little discoveries I've made by experience and trial and error. Perhaps that's why I enjoy cooking as much as I do. And...I include baking in cooking because, for me, that's part of my cooking world.

Salt is a flavor enhancer, so it's reasonable that it would enhance "sweet" too. The trick is to use enough to enhance, but not so much that it tastes "salty".

Salt is so interesting. I love salt, and almost always add it to sweet goods as well. But like many people, I stick to the most unrefined salt possible, such as gray Celtic sea salt. Lately, I've been using red Hawaiian salt, and grinding it myself.

Speaking of science and salt, apparently adding salt to raw eggs about 15 minutes before you cook them is supposed to make them a lot more moist. I've done this, with good results. I've also heard that adding salt to whipping cream is supposed to help it whip better. I do add a pinch when I whip cream, but I don't know if there's a scientific reason why it would help in the whipping. In my experience, at least it doesn't seem to hurt any. ;)

Last edited: