Would I be able to get by with an "efficiency kitchenette"?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Easton

Cook
I'm looking for an apartment in Boston and one of the places I came across was an "efficiency kitchenette" that featured a microwave, fridge, hotplate, and a toaster oven. So there's no regular stove/oven. You think I could make some simple meals like baked salmon in the toaster oven?

FYI, the rest of the apartment is very nice. I might be willing to make this sacrifice because I'm a college student.

Absolutely! Especially if you’re only cooking for one. I use my toaster oven all the time (I only cook for two), and it is perfect. I’ve got one like this:

Toaster_Oven.jpg

It has a rotisserie in it that is just right for Cornish Hens, whole chicken breasts, kabobs, etc. It’s got adjustable racks that can move to four different heights so it accommodates a 9 ¼ square baking dish for casseroles, small meats, etc. You can broil with it, make foil packs for baking, everything that a regular oven can do......just smaller, with less electricity, and you don’t heat up the house doing it.

Granted, you can't do large things like a Turkey (maybe a small breast) or 12 inch pizza, but that’s ok. Actually, I have cut a 12” pizza in half and cooked just half and froze the other half.

If the one in the apartment isn’t quite big enough, you can pick up a bigger one at Wal-Mart or Target for under $50. The only thing that might hamper you in the set-up you described is that you’ve got only one eye (hot plate)? That means you’ll only be able to cook one pot worth of something at a time......but that’s still not problem, especially since you have the microwave (which is great for things like vegetables, canned beans, etc). Also, you could consider buying a dual eye hotplate from Wal-Mart, Target, Lowes, etc.