Broccoli...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HazelEyedLove

Assistant Cook
S. Florida/NYC (back & forth between 'em)
Hello all you wonderful chefs ;)

Do any of you have baked broccoli recipes? I'm just wondering what you think goes well with it as far as spices...also, for how long do I bake it? I'm thinking I'll probably boil it for 5m first, then bake for a half an hour or so, till it looks ready...any more ideas?

Thanks for your help guys...silly question, I know; I'm just starting out...

~Olesya~ :)

Hi there!!!

I don't bake mine but I will roast it (it's still in the oven).

But don't boil it first. Just break/cut into flowerettes, I also cut up the stalk after peeling into chunks, toss with a little olive oil, sprinkling of kosher salt, place in single layer on baking sheet set at about 375°. After about 15 minutes turn over as long as the underside has started taking on some color, bake for another 10-15 minutes.

It all depends on how big your pieces are so you might want to check for color after about 10 minutes.

YEA!!!!! Glad I could help. It is addicting stuff - a tad crispy/crunchy on the flowerettes and just plain good!

Here's how I love my broccoli and asparagus best ~ heck, I even do sweet potatoes, sweet onions, baby beets, fennel, etc. this way too. I just adjust the baking time a bit according to what I've got in the pan.

Preheat oven to 475-500 F

Chop vegetables into desired size
1/4 - 1/3 c pine nuts
drizzle with olive oil, toss to coat vegetables and nuts

Roast for 8 minutes, then toss them around in the pan and roast for about 8 minutes more. The pine nuts should be starting to get toasty brown and the vegetables should be bright green and crispy with a few brown spots (not mushy!).

Sprinkle generously with sea salt and serve.

A squeeze of lemon juice is tastey on this stuff too!