Good leftovers

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Phantom of the Kitchen

Assistant Cook
Hey everyone

So here I am a college student and on the road to being a vegetarian. When I cook up normal meals, they last for so long because they make a lot of food, which isn't always a bad thing, but it is when they start to go bad. What I am wondering is if anyone here has recipes for food that can be easily frozen or preserved somehow. I wouldn't mind some advice on what types of foods can be frozen and preserved, or just general guidelines, either.

I recently picked up "Moosewood Restaurant Low-Fat Favorites," and "The Essential Book of Pasta and Noodles," but like I mentiond before the pasta recipes are always for a pound of pasta and I don't know how (or even if it's possible) to re-heat or re-use cooked and refridgerated pasta. I want to make everything in the moosewood cookbook but I'm just not sure how to preserve the leftovers.

Thanks much!

brad

edit: I thought of a couple more things. Is halfing a recipe just as easy as doubling one? Also, is there a dish that requires basically everything? heh because I also end up with half a bell pepper here and a quarter of an onion and some basil and a little cilantro and this and that, but I don't know what to do with it! Naturally being in the low-income situation I am in, I would like to waste as little as possible.

Last edited:
Of course halving (or quartering etc) the recipe is easy. Solves your leftovers problem.

Almost any meal can be frozen, some better than others. If you make a pasta sauce (such as a tomato or bolognaise sauce) then you can easily freeze any leftover sauce ready to be thawed and reheated for another meal. It is best if you do not freeze the pasta and sauce already combined, it works much better with reheated sauce and freshly cooked pasta.