"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Vegetables

Old 08-06-2006, 04:21 PM   #1
Executive Chef

How do you cook artichokes?

I have always just boiled mine (in water) with lemon juice, salt and garlic. I'd love some new suggestions.

...and now I'm boiling potatos for a salad in the artichoke water. Do you think it will be bitter? I've never tried it before but hated to see all that flavor go down the drain.

Old 08-06-2006, 04:25 PM   #2
Executive Chef

You might be able to find some ideas that you like here:

http://www.discusscooking.com/forums...earchid=286596

Old 08-06-2006, 04:43 PM   #3
Executive Chef

Lol Thank you Ironchef....I completely forgot about the 'search' button.
Old 08-06-2006, 04:45 PM   #4
Executive Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by Half Baked
...and now I'm boiling potatos for a salad in the artichoke water. Do you think it will be bitter? I've never tried it before but hated to see all that flavor go down the drain.
It probably won't affect the flavor in a noticeable way. But I've never done that before. Let us know how it turns out.
Old 08-06-2006, 07:11 PM   #5
Sous Chef

Years ago someone brot into the office where I worked a case of artichokes and of course we all scammered to take some home. The next day we were all talking of how much we had enjoyed them and how we had prepared them. A little Vietnamese gal who worked with us had the darndest expression on her face...turns out she took hers home and she and her mother boiled them in water, threw the chokes away and drank the water....she had no idea.
Old 08-06-2006, 08:42 PM   #6
Assistant Cook

No new flavor ideas, but the pressure cooker positively ROCKS!!!
Old 08-06-2006, 09:19 PM   #7
Executive Chef

The potatos were really good. The lemon/garlic/artichoke added enough flavor to make them interesting. I mainly tasted lemon and garlic, the artichoke flavor was weak.