How do you cook artichokes?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Half Baked

Executive Chef
I have always just boiled mine (in water) with lemon juice, salt and garlic. I'd love some new suggestions.:)

...and now I'm boiling potatos for a salad in the artichoke water. Do you think it will be bitter? I've never tried it before but hated to see all that flavor go down the drain.

Last edited:
Lol Thank you Ironchef....I completely forgot about the 'search' button.:rolleyes:

Half Baked said:
...and now I'm boiling potatos for a salad in the artichoke water. Do you think it will be bitter? I've never tried it before but hated to see all that flavor go down the drain.

It probably won't affect the flavor in a noticeable way. But I've never done that before. Let us know how it turns out.

Years ago someone brot into the office where I worked a case of artichokes and of course we all scammered to take some home. The next day we were all talking of how much we had enjoyed them and how we had prepared them. A little Vietnamese gal who worked with us had the darndest expression on her face...turns out she took hers home and she and her mother boiled them in water, threw the chokes away and drank the water....she had no idea.

The potatos were really good. The lemon/garlic/artichoke added enough flavor to make them interesting. I mainly tasted lemon and garlic, the artichoke flavor was weak.

I used to use the artichoke water in soups but my freezer doesn't have enough space for a toothpick.

Half Baked said:
I have always just boiled mine (in water) with lemon juice, salt and garlic. I'd love some new suggestions.

I've done them in the microwave with good success. It's been some time since I've done it that way, but I think this is correct: