ISO raw mushrooms, red/orange peppers recipes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ratsrcute

Assistant Cook
I have a recipe in the "5 in 10" cookbook which says that sauteed mushrooms and orange/yellow/red bell peppers go really well together, which is true. However, I would like to make a raw dish like that. I have some jaw pain so I can't chew things very much, but in spite of that I would like to eat more raw veggies. If I chop things up finely, I'm usually okay.

So anyway, I experimented with raw mushroom and peppers. (I'm avoiding green peppers--just using red/orange/yellow.) I cut them up finely. Raw mushroom has a kind of "hollow" taste which needs some kind of balancing ingredient. I have very little knowledge of cooking so I just experimented. I added white wine vinegar. Not bad. I added some salt and pepper. That helps. I tried toasted sesame oil, but that has a very dark and smoky flavor which didn't go well with the sweet peppers, I think.

So help me! what spice or seasoning or other raw veggie can I add to mushrooms and peppers? What can act as a foil or balance to the "hollow" taste and spongy texture of raw mushroom?

thanks,
Mike

I've added raw peppers and mushrooms to potato and egg salad (potato and egg cooked obviously) and they have gone down well. Very light on the mayo as a dressing.

Try different mushrooms. I haven't found them to be spongy. Mine have snapped. How are you cutting them? Are they fresh enough?

What about peas? They are tasty raw. Have you tried balsamic vinegar. What about putting them through coleslaw, that's entirely raw.

I used to add raw mushrooms to a garden salad with some orange segments. That was tasty. Didn't add a dressing as not overly keen on sloppy salad.