Need a little help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Hi there, I am not very good with measurements either, but here goes.

I take the mashed potatoes, throw in a bunch of flour and a tsp or two of baking powder and work the stuff til it is doughy. I sometimes toss in an egg, or some milk, and of course salt and pepper. Then I just fry and go. Yum, may have to do this again soon. I usually do mine with raw grated potato, but when you have leftovers, that is the way to go.

This is the recipe I used tonight but I added a handful of grated cheddar cheese & some paprika to the mixture. It came from www.cooks.com. I don't really do measurements either. I can't wait to try both of your suggestions. Thank you very much! :D

FRIED MASHED POTATO PATTIES

1 1/2 c. leftover mashed potatoes
2 tbsp. milk
1 egg
1/2 tsp. salt
Dash of pepper
1/4 c. flour
1/4 c. cooking oil
Mash cold potatoes with fork until soft. Add milk. Mix well. Add egg, salt, pepper and flour. Mix until well mixed. Fry in cooking oil.

yummm..that would also be good with some finely diced gr pepper and onion thrown in.... I'd like to dunk them in a yummy roasted red pepper dressing too... I'm going to have to make something to eat soon.. lol

Here is the roasted red pepper dressing I stated above... those potato pancakes would also be good with some warm bacon dressing.. that recipe is included too.

Roasted Red Pepper Dressing:

7 oz jar roasted red peppers, drained and patted dry
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tbsp vinegar
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup plain yogurt
salt and pepper to taste

In a blender or food processor puree the red peppers, cayenne, and vinegar until the mixture is smooth and with the motor running add the oil in a stream. Turn off the motor, scrape down the sides, and blend in the yogurt and salt/pepper to taste..

Warm Creamy Bacon Dressing:

4 bacon slices, chopped
1 garlic clove, minced