Storing onions?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NYBrit

Senior Cook
What's the best way to store onions? We have ours in the refridgerator in the store plastic bag but it's started to stink the fridge out lol. Is it better to store the onions in a storage container or should they be stored in the fridge?

I've been cooking for nearly 50 years and have never stored onions in the refrigerator. I've always kept them in a hanging wire basket in the kitchen. Never had a problem with them sprouting or spoiling either. I would think the refrigerator is too moist an environment for onions.

Onions should be in a cool dark place with air circulation. The fridge is not the best spot.

:) The plastic bag isnt helping.I think they need air to not spoil I also store my onions in a wire basket in the laundry room its somewhat dark and cool in there

2-3 days, Bob?
I've kept partially used onions in the fridge on a plate with plastic wrap over them for more than a week and they were fine. Tasted good, not slimy, nothing growing on them (that you could see ;) ).... I always buy big onions and it seems I always have one in the fridge for a while. I don't throw it out until it starts to dry up and the layers separate. Not that it's a good thing, but I thought they lasted longer than a couple days.....

I keep my onions on the fridge in the plastic bag, but the bag is opened and loose so the air can get at them. I wish I could get a hanging basket, but my kitchen is layed out so goofy I have no idea where I'd hang it. The only cool, dark place in my house is the basement :rolleyes:

I'll be the voice of dissention here. I always store my onions in the frige, along with the other veggies. Of course, I go through them pretty darn fast, as well. I usually buy 5 - 6 large onions a week, and use them during that week.