Taste testing hot peppers

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

taxlady

Chef Extraordinaire
Moderator Emeritus
Another question for the forum: I have several chili peppers that I have never tried before. I would like to taste test them. I was thinking chop up some of each kind and mix each kind, separately, into a bit of cream cheese or sour cream, so the capsaicin doesn't overwhelm the flavour.

How do you taste test chili peppers?

I just pop them whole, unless they are large, in which case I'll cut them in half. I chew them for 30 sec, spit them out, then see how hot they end up, then make notes on other flavors.

I was going to start a new thread a few weeks ago on the taste of peppers, but looks like Ill just add to this on. Other than the heat factor and the sweetness and occasional bitterness, does the actual taste of the pepper cary much from variety to variety ? And when it reaches a certain 'hotness'. can that taste difference even be perceived or does the heat element completely take over ?

When eating a pepper, I focus on heat, sweeteness and the thickness/ or meatiness of the pepper. Ive only worked with a half dozen peppers over the years, so I have little experience in many of the varieties.

I just pop them whole, unless they are large, in which case I'll cut them in half. I chew them for 30 sec, spit them out, then see how hot they end up, then make notes on other flavors.

tenor.gif

Taxlady, I tend to think that tasting them the way you plan to eat them is best. I don't eat whole peppers by themselves.

So, I think your idea of mixing with some kind of cheese would be a good idea.

CD

Depending on the scoville rating, I nibble the tip first, making sure to avoid the membrane and seefd