How To: Legsbig's Pepper Mash Pictorial

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mylegsbig

Head Chef
Alright guys. Ive made a couple batches of pepper mash but this is my biggest batch and best attempt, using my best quality peppers. It's a very simple process that can yield you a fantastic base for hot sauce, or just to eat plain.

Warning, this stuff is extremely spicy. The key is letting peppers ferment like cheese or wine, they thrive on a lacto bacteria that turns them into a ripe goodness. You just make this up and let it sit for at least a month. Preferably six months or a year.
Here goes. This is my first try at this step by step, so bear with me.

Step 1. Get yourself a pair of latex or rubber gloves. rinse them well and make sure all that powder **** is off them. dont even THINK about doing this without gloves.

Take some delicious chinense peppers. I used red habaneros and Fatalii's.

This recipe calls for about 2 dozen of each, though i used only about a dozen fatalii's.

Dust them with kosher salt.

img_314449_0_15209b600ae65bf2a1a0b255c609c9be.jpg

img_314449_1_ffeacd7f2e49d8a64cb12eab6e4b07bf.jpg

First rinse these things as they are whole. You will be rinsing them again, but i like to get all the crap off i possibly can.

Next, chop these things in half, lengthwise, and remove all the seeds and that pulp nasty middle section. this can be sloppy, just to do your best.
img_314449_2_e9ed386a0a2fbb929be1c8f779bfb2d6.jpg

img_314449_3_440d67ff155920b8eaaf0b79c807e165.jpg

Okay, now that you got em deseeded and cleaned up, Rinse them up one more time in a good mesh strainer.
img_314449_4_a92e145584591e7fcc28bc3e808ee4f6.jpg

Now it's time to turn them over to the food processor. If you dont have one, a blender should do, or a very sharp knife. You want to blend them into very fine pieces, but not pureed or a paste.