Whitefish Citrus Glaze/Sauce - Any Tips?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mylegsbig

Head Chef
Hey guys, i'm making some chilean sea bass tonight, and i brainstormed an idea for a sauce, and bought the ingredients. I just have a couple questions on how to best execute this, as i'm still relatively new to creating recipes on the fly...

Here are the ingredients i want in my sauce/glaze.

Rice wine vinegar
Soy Sauce
Thai Red Curry Paste
Orange Juice
Lemon Juice
Garlic
Shallots

I'm not sure what proportions i should use? I'm making 3 6oz chilean sea bass filets.

Should the rice wine vinegar and soysauce be equal parts? is there a general ratio to follow in sauces like this?

Also, i'm not sure if i should cook up this sauce, then let it cool to room temperature(sautee the shallots and garlic in olive oil to start) and then baste the fish with it, and then pan sear it...

Or if i should just pan sear the fish in olive oil and salt and pepper, and then coat it with the sauce?

Mainly i'm interested in proportions, like how much of each ingredient should i use? I mean i can pretty much wing it, but some guidelines would be fantastic.

Thanks in advance guys.

Cheers

Mylegsbig said:
Rice wine vinegar
Soy Sauce
Thai Red Curry Paste
Orange Juice
Lemon Juice
Garlic
Shallots

If it were me I would use lime versus lemon only because with the rice wine vinegar, soy sauce, Thai ingredients lime is a natural. For some reason I also want to throw in a TBS or two of chopped, fresh cilantro (also another natural with these ingredients).

This is going to be a VERY thin sauce. I'd be tempted to saute the fish until almost done and remove from the pan. Add the shallots and caramelize. Add other ingredients:

2 TBS rice wine vinegar
2 TBS soy sauce
1/4 tsp (or to taste) red curry paste
1 TBS oj (orange juice concentrate would REALLY be the ticket)