Anyone know beans about beans?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

slocooker

Assistant Cook
Hello all

I have a problem cooking dried beans. I'm a very patient cook, I soak them overnight as the package suggests, and I follow recipes carefully, but 95% of the time they come out tough, and even on the verge of crunchy!

For instance, I have a batch of baked beans that I'm hoping to rescue. I soaked a pound of medium/small pink beans overnight on Friday, and following a recipe from a reputable cookbook, I added ingredients and a GALLON of water (again following the recipe) and boiled them at a good slow boil FOR FIVE HOURS (the top end of the recipe's cooking range). All of the liquid reduced, and the sauce is of a good consistency, BUT THE BEANS ARE STILL FRICKIN TOUGH.

Anyone have any tips for me? :wacko:

Thanks,
slocooker

It could be that the beans are old. Even though they are dried, as beans age they reach a point where no amount of cooking will soften them.

You might also try putting a little baking soda into the water when cooking them.

Well I think I have found an answer.

As beans cook, the starches in them absorb water. The heat and water break down cell structure, causing pectin, or the glue that holds cells together, to become soft and dissolve. That's what makes beans tender. Acid (like tomatoes), salt, and calcium reacts with the bean surface, preventing water from entering the bean and cooking the starch. Boston baked beans can be cooked for hours and still retain their shape because of the acidic sauce that surrounds them. So add salty, acidic, and dairy ingredients at the end of cooking time in bean dishes. "

So, I've come to the conclusion that most of the recipes that I've been using just suck, but I would still like to hear if anyone has any other suggestions.

Last edited by a moderator: