Cooking Long Grain White Rice - a primer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FincaPerlitas

Senior Cook
Judging by the number of posts in other threads on this forum, it seems like a basic primer on rice cookery would be helpful to a lot of cooks. While I don't consider myself to be a rice expert, I'm a long time resident of Central America where rice is a basic staple in the diet. My family, and most others, cook rice daily and it is eaten with almost every meal – breakfast, lunch and dinner.

There are a number of different varieties of rice – long, short, and medium grained, both brown and white. The most commonly served variety is regular long grain white rice. That's what we normally eat in my family and that's what I'm going to discuss.

NOTE: Parboiled, instant and converted (such as regular Uncle Ben's) rice require different cooking techniques, times and quantities of liquid. These methods are only for regular enriched or unenriched long grain white rice.

Gereral Information: Rice is a cereal grain. The first step in processing is milling to remove the hard outer husk, or chaff. The resulting grain is known as brown rice. To produce white rice, the grain is then further milled to remove its brown outer layer (the bran).rice keeps longer, cooks faster, and has a milder flavor and softer texture than brown rice, which is probably why most people prefer it.

Unfortunately, a lot of the nutritional value is also removed in the milling process. In the US, most white rice is “enriched” to replace some of the nutrients lost during milling – commonly with iron, niacin, thiamin and folic acid, which is usually applied as a powdered blend that will easily wash off. In the US, all rice which has been enriched in this manner is required to be labeled with instructions advising against washing before cooking. (See next paragraph.)