Homemade ravioli

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nickfinity

Assistant Cook
Hello,

I'm sure this is a subject that has been covered a lot, but I thought I would ask again. I want to make some homemade ravioli. I've never done it before and I've never made pasta dough. I'm the adventurous type so I'd like to give it a try.

I assume a pasta maker is required? I don't have one yet. If it's not required do I just roll it out really thin? If I decide to at least make the filling prior to getting a pasta maker, if it's required, would using (perhaps store bought) wonton wrappers be ok? Or what would be second best to homemade dough?

Thanks for any help, I really appreciate it. Now I'm hungry......

Thanks,
Nick

You can use the won ton wrappers for ravioli. Of course home made would be even better but I know what you mean about not having a pasta maker.

We use a pasta maker, one of those things with two rollers.

People have for many centuries made thin pasta dough without a gizmo, but we find it convenient.

Wonton wrappers work fine.

When we make ravioli usually fill it with a lobster or crab mixture. Don't have that much free time and decided that when we do it will go all out. And make the sauce out of the shells.

Making pasta at home for ravioli can be done with a variety of recipes, the difference usually is based upon the flour used.

Cooking is giving things a shot. You will sometimes win and sometimes, well, your product will not be the best.

It happens to us all.

Just try to figure out where the recipe failed and do better next time.

Good luck and keep in touch with DC.

Thanks for the help Shunka and auntdot, I really appreciate it. I guess I'm going to give ravioli a shot tomorrow with my aunt and cousins. It should be fun. This time I'll probably go with wonton (or is it won ton? I never know) just to be a little more on the safe side.