Homemade Ravioli Woes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

inchrisin

Senior Cook
Hey all,

Short version: I'm new to ravioli and I tried to make mushroom stuffed ravioli. It was way too wet and my ravioli didn't seal. Any tips?

Long version: So, I tried ravioli for the first time today. I spent about 3 hours working my butt off on 2 different fillings. I have a pasta machine and a dough recipe that was pretty solid. I let my dough rest for about 2 hours before working it and I used semolina flour for dusting in between settings. The dough rolled well. The dough was not tacky and worked easily. I used a whole whipped egg for an egg wash to seal the raviolis.

My concerns were in the moisture of the filling. I tried a mushroom filling that was mostly food-processed button mushrooms, some red wine, and bread crumbs to soak up the moisture when I realized what I had created. I pressed out as much moisture as I could with a colander. Still soppy wet.

Is it fair to say that the stuffing of a ravioli is allowed to be pretty dry if you're going to boil it and cover it in sauce? Maybe the stuffing should be more like turkey stuffing? Moist, but better dry than wet. It's just an excuse for more gravy. :P

I also tried a ricotta stuffing with lemon juice, parsley, and some thyme. Delicious. I think I just packed the stuffing too close together. When I folded the ravioli over, I used the (staggered ravioli cutting wheel??) and it didn't hold the edges together. I'm thinking next time that I'll go over the seams with the back of a fork. What does this say about that dough?

Any advice is most welcome. I threw an audible and made fried ravioli/pierogies with Bolognese. The sauce was perfect, at least.