Ideas to give rice a little kick but not much

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

danpeikes

Senior Cook
I am need to make a nice dish for about 50 people. I am looking to do something with a little kick or possibly on the savory side. It has to go well for a very conservative crowd. I am trying to balance out the fact that other starch and the protien are on the sweet side. Any Ideas?

I am looking for a simple rice dish that can easily be made in large quantity. I can get access to most ingridients. I am lookings to add a little spice or heat to it or possibly some savory flavors to balance out the rest of the plate as the other starch and the protien are sweet. I am thinking about some sort of curry but I am new to the curry world. I don't know if that is the right direction. Any and all advice would help.

mushroom is a thought scotch. It is a great savory/earthy flavor but does not really pack any heat.

a Cajun dirty rice is a good one

(green pepper, celery, onion, garlic, chicken livers & sausage, red pepper flake, thyme, broth, Worcestershire sauce, rice)

There are many variations. I made it for a rather conservative food group recently, every one loved it, all of it went, and no one knew it had chicken livers in it. (You could leave them out if you were worried and just use a sage sausage.)

If they are that conservative, that you are scared of using to many veggies as well, You can make a garlic chili basmati.
All you do is toast the basmati, garlic, chili, in some olive oil deglaze with white wine and add the rest with chicken stock.
Its very easy and has great flavour