"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Pasta, Rice, Beans, Grains...

Old 01-18-2015, 10:56 PM   #1
Master Chef

ISO-Lentil recipes

I am new to lentils. All the recipes I find are Indian or Mediterranean flavors. I don't normally have those spices on hand and don't want to spend the money to buy them if DH doesn't like the dish. Does anyone have some recipes that are not curries or stews? I'd like to make some for side dishes. Can they be substituted for beans in recipes?

Old 01-18-2015, 11:05 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire

I don't eat lentils, but the website The Kitchn seems obsessed with them Here's one set of recipes from them; there are more.

Soul-Satisfying: A Roundup of Great Lentil Recipes | The Kitchn

Old 01-18-2015, 11:08 PM   #3
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

ISO-Lentil recipes

I made lentil soup, using them like split peas. Turned out pretty good! Chopped vegetables, chicken broth, seasonings. You could throw in a ham bone if you like.
Old 01-19-2015, 08:48 AM   #4
Master Chef

I have used them for soup and also as a substitute for ground beef, sort of like TVP. I really should have another go at them. If you are feeding skeptics try adding lentils in place of half the ground beef, sausage or ground turkey in some of your favorite recipes. Having them in foods that are familiar to your family may make it easier to sell them on lentils.

Cook the lentils in plenty of lightly salted barely simmering water for 15-20 minutes or until they are tender, not falling apart, drain them and add them to your cooked meat crumbles. Try them in things like tomato based meat sauce, lasagna, sloppy joes, tacos, chili, etc...

I have to admit I'm not wild about them, like many new foods they sort of grow on you.
Old 01-19-2015, 10:50 AM   #5
Executive Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by jabbur View Post