ISO-Lentil recipes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jabbur

Master Chef
I am new to lentils. All the recipes I find are Indian or Mediterranean flavors. I don't normally have those spices on hand and don't want to spend the money to buy them if DH doesn't like the dish. Does anyone have some recipes that are not curries or stews? I'd like to make some for side dishes. Can they be substituted for beans in recipes?

I made lentil soup, using them like split peas. Turned out pretty good! Chopped vegetables, chicken broth, seasonings. You could throw in a ham bone if you like.

Last edited:
I have used them for soup and also as a substitute for ground beef, sort of like TVP. I really should have another go at them. If you are feeding skeptics try adding lentils in place of half the ground beef, sausage or ground turkey in some of your favorite recipes. Having them in foods that are familiar to your family may make it easier to sell them on lentils.

Cook the lentils in plenty of lightly salted barely simmering water for 15-20 minutes or until they are tender, not falling apart, drain them and add them to your cooked meat crumbles. Try them in things like tomato based meat sauce, lasagna, sloppy joes, tacos, chili, etc...

I have to admit I'm not wild about them, like many new foods they sort of grow on you. :ermm::ohmy::LOL:

Last edited:
I am new to lentils. All the recipes I find are Indian or Mediterranean flavors. I don't normally have those spices on hand and don't want to spend the money to buy them if DH doesn't like the dish. Does anyone have some recipes that are not curries or stews? I'd like to make some for side dishes. Can they be substituted for beans in recipes?
Which sort of lentils? If you mean the red/orange ones/Egyptian lentils this is rather good. Not sure about the spelling as it was given to me by word of mouth.

KOSHRI
Ingredients: