"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Pasta, Rice, Beans, Grains...

Old 12-24-2007, 11:09 AM   #1
Executive Chef

Lasagna???

Can I put it all together today and cook it tomorrow? My fear, since it's my first time is that I'll mess up the noodles and need to go buy more. I know, just go buy more just in case, well, I'm broke and the stores are cleaned out. I got two of the last 5 boxes of real pasta (not Walmart brand).

Old 12-24-2007, 11:15 AM   #2
Executive Chef

I would cook it today, then re-heat tomorrow for the best flavor.

Old 12-24-2007, 11:18 AM   #3
Executive Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeekinz View Post
I would cook it today, then re-heat tomorrow for the best flavor.
Out of curiosity why would it taste better tomorrow reheating it? Doesn't reheating dry it out?
Old 12-24-2007, 11:20 AM   #4
Executive Chef

Nope. Lasagna (and other pasta/red sauce dishes) always taste better the next day.
Old 12-24-2007, 11:29 AM   #5
Head Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by Callisto in NC View Post
Can I put it all together today and cook it tomorrow? My fear, since it's my first time is that I'll mess up the noodles and need to go buy more. I know, just go buy more just in case, well, I'm broke and the stores are cleaned out. I got two of the last 5 boxes of real pasta (not Walmart brand).
I would make it the same day. You asked if you could put it all together & cook tomorrow. Do you mean reheat tomorrow? Can you show us the recipe you have in mind? What are boxes of real pasta? Do you mean dry lasagna noodles? Noticed you mentioned in another thread you have canned diced tomatoes. Need more info - recipe & ingredients.
Old 12-24-2007, 11:57 AM   #6
Executive Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by *amy* View Post