Mashed Potato tastes plain. Why?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LuxEterna

Assistant Cook
Hello to everybody!

I'm a newbie to cooking and newbie to this forum.

self intro : I'm from Singapore. I'm 32F single. I grew up with Chinese foods. And I can't cook for nuts, because in Singapore, there's cheap tasty food every where here. (People who cannot cook will not die from hunger in Singapore. )

But two weeks ago, I decided to enter the adventurous world of cooking.

Pls help with my mashed potato. why does it taste bland??

I used 3 big potatos, with 200ml milk and 50 g unsalted butter and 1 bunch of scallions and half tea spoon salt.

Is it that I havent added enough salt or that it is meant to taste this bland??

The problem with recipes is, they never tell you how much salt to put. They just say "SOME salt and pepper"

How much is SOME???? Zeesh, How would a newbie know???

How can I improve my recipe?

Thank you, dear forum for the answer and help.

Last edited:
If it tastes bland to you, add more salt. Do it slowly, tasting after each addition because while you can always add more, you cannot take away. I use a bit of sour cream in my mashed potatoes, too...it rounds out the flavour. You could also do roasted garlic, or pesto, or sundried tomatoes.

Potatoes are bland by nature, just like rice. I add a bit of cayenne pepper or a little horseradish to mine. It depends on your taste buds and what you're going to eat them with.

And...welcome to DC!

For 3 large potatoes, I would probably be probably be putting in about a half a stick of butter. 1/2 stick is 1/8 of a pound which is 56 grams. So 50g is not far off. I always fully incorporate the butter before putting in the milk. Other than that you may just need more salt.

Welcome to DC. For regular mashed potatoes my mom always added butter, milk and salt and pepper to taste.