Pasta issues

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

legend_018

Head Chef
Seeking Pasta help. Ok, I'm actually a seasoned cook to a degree. However, lately I've been having problems with pasta. Maybe I'm rushing or losing grip with some basics. My kids won't eat it with sauce so aim to use butter and/or olive oil and then of course they have to have salt. I bring the water to a rolling boil, salt it and then I cook the pasta for the allotted time. I drain it, no water, put it back in the hot pan and put butter and/or olive oil. I leave it in the pan, with no cover on it as it is done and I'm getting ready to serve it. Then it just seems that minutes go by (maybe my kids take there time coming down to eat) and just merely minutes go by and the pasta starts turning dry almost stale like. I've had a few incidents in the recent past where my daughter was like...I don't like your pasta.

How can something so easy become so hard. I did start looking this up. I read something about making sure that when you put salt in the pot before cooking the pasta, that is is a GOOD amount 1-2 tablespoons. could it be that simple, that I'm not salting the water enough during cooking? Does anyone notice anything wrong with my explanation of how I cook pasta. :wacko::mellow:
Its ok if you want to make my head chef title lower now that I'm admitting I'm having issues with pasta. old age maybe? lol lol j/k. : )

Last edited:
The salt has nothing to do with it. That's just for flavor. After you drain the pasta and add the fat (butter or oil), toss it completely so all the pasta is coated. Add some of the pasta cooking water and toss it thoroughly. The water and fat will make a sauce-like coating. Then cover the pot to keep moisture in. If the kids complain, tell them to come to dinner right away when they're called.