Simple, tasty, college couscous

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
A quick introduction as this is my first post. I am a college senior (graduating in december) with a budding interest in cooking. I've been doing a bit on my own, but I usually just end up taking a bunch of ingredients I like and frying them in a deep pan with oil. But hey, I'm learning!

Anyway, I have a ton of dry couscous and would like to make some tonight for dinner, but I'm unsure what to make it with. I really like couscous and making it is so darn easy, but when it's plain it's a bit drab for me, so I'd like to spice it up a bit. Maybe some italian dressing and feta cheese?

As I said I'm a college student with a really tiny kitchen I share with 4 other guys, so my resources are somewhat limited, but I have a few basic spices (basil, parsley, oregano, dill, chilli pepper, etc.) a few basic items (garlic, onions, potatoes), and of course I can always run out to the store to pick up whatever i don't have.

So does anyone have any simple suggestions as to what to do with my couscous? I should also point out that I have recently become a vegetarian.

Thanks in advance!

Welcome to the site! You came to the right place for suggestions.

I find the easiest way to get flavor into couscous is instead of using boiling water try using stock or broth. Since you are a vegetarian then vegetable broth would work great here.

Couscous can be used many ways so the sky is the limit. Add any veggies you like. They will all work.

I am posting this recipe, but I can't vouch for it yet as I have never tried it. I am making it this weekend from Mothers Day though so ask me Sunday night and I can let you know how it turned out.

Cherry-Almond Couscous

4 pieces scallions, chopped (save green part for garnishing)
3 cups couscous
2 tablespoons virgin olive oil
1/3 cup dried cherries