Why is risotto so much *creamier* in restaurants compared to my own?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AlexR

Senior Cook
Hi,
Is it simply that they add cream at the end? :bash:

I mean, I do use the right kind of rice, arborio or carnaroli.

I make a good enough risotto, and it absorbs plenty of liquid (wine and broth) but why, oh why, is risotto so much more unctuous when I eat out in a restaurant?

Yours sincerley,
Alex Rychlewski

ooh, good word, unctuous. :) it's a stretch on the definition, as it's usually used as a negative adjective.

i'm an expert by no means, having made risotto only a few times recently, but i conjecture that it was one of the following possible variables: the temp at which it's cooked; the size and shape of the cooking vessel; the method in which the liquids are added; the quality of the rice; and the method by which the rice is stirred.

my early attempts at risotto have been surprisingly successful. i dare say as good as restaurants. but it was a labor intensive pain the the, uhh, forearm. the best results were achieved by using imported italian arborio, chicken stock, butter, oo, salt, and shallots, and then nearly constantly stirring and folding the rice until it's completion in a 5 quart, stainless steel wide saute.
after the initial pour, liquid was added as the mixture began to thicken to an obvious point near sticking.

i tasted it so many times along the way that it was interesting to see how it was enjoyable in different ways, at different stages of doneness.

good question, alexr. i'll be very interested in the experienced answers to this one.

Last edited:
Without knowing exactly how you make yours there is no way for us to know. Detail the steps you take and that will help a lot.