American Fusion: Modern American Cuisine

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mollyanne

Flour Child
From some posts I've read here, there seems to be a misconception as to what exactly modern American cuisine is. It's not bland greasy unhealthy fastfoods and buffets. Traditional American Cuisine dates back to the colonialist's interpretation of American-Indian cooking. But an influx of immigrants, a focus on health & nutrition, and a focus on fresh regional ingredients caused an explosion that is a feast for the senses.

American Fusion is one aspect of the American Cuisine:
(incomplete list as I'm no expert but please feel free to add more)

TexMex - a fusion of Texan cuisine and Mexican
Louisiana Creole & Cajun - a fusion with French and Caribbean
Soulfood - African-American with slavery roots
Hawaiian Fusion - fusion of Chinese, Japanese, Polynesian, & Portuguese
California Cuisine - sometimes related to French Nouvelle and incorporates influences from Latin America, Mediterranean, and Asian. Southern California incorporates a strong influence of Mexico as well.
Focus is on health, nutrition, and use of fresh regional ingredients.
Amish Cuisine - Pennsylvania Dutch

Post favorite recipes, menus, or names of restaurants that are the best of the best for examples of American Fusion. Or add other American Fusion categories to my list.

Note: I will be doing another thread (after this thread finishes "marinating") based on another aspect of American Cuisine...the unique dishes offered by the various regions within America dictated by their fresh local ingredients available like a New England Clambake and Maine Lobster, Maryland/Virginia's Chesapeake Bay Blue Crab, Alaskan King Crab and Salmon, Southwestern cuisine, Southern cooking, etc etc. I felt this was all very different from American Fusion thus the separation of threads.