Bavarian ideas needed

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

abjcooking

Head Chef
Tomorrow I am going to be going over to a friends house to celebrate Octoberfest (spelling?). Anyway I am suppose to bring food. There are going to be around 10 people. The party starts around 5, so they would not have had dinner yet. I am looking for a tasty dish that isn't too expensive that I can make either tonight or tomorrow morning/early afternoon.

I was going to make a bunch of coctail meatballs, but my boyfriend said I should make something Bavarian since Octoberfest is what we will be celebrating. I have no experience with this type of food. Can anyone help.

Chef Jimmy. The potato salad is a good one. The cabbage rolls though, those need to be served warm don't they?

I remember lots of big soft pretzels. You could make those then cut them in 1/2 like a sandwich. Make a spread of cream cheese with chives mixed in, spread it on the bottom half and put the top back on.

After everyone sees how pretty they are, you can cut them into thirds for easier eating.

But I love German Potato salad. :)

Half Baked, what a good idea. I've never baked my own pretzles. I might try to grab some from a street vender and use those to make life easier. They are pretty large pretzles.

Speise von Bayern

Weisswurst This is the classic sausage of munich served on a crusty roll with a sweet mustard
leberkase
Knoedell--bread crumbs and potato are the most common types
rotkohl
Schnitzel
potato salad (bacon and vinegar dressing
onion tart
leek and potato soup, a thin soup
rye bread/pumpernickel
corn on the cob is served at Oktoberfest, the only time I saw that in Germany.
Peas are popular as is asparagus

Spaetzle is very good but more Schwaebisch

In parting:

It's nice to be a Preiss, but it's higher to be a Bayer