"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > International Cuisines and Ethnic Cookery

Old 04-03-2016, 07:21 PM   #1
Master Chef

Hatch chiles...?

I was lucky enough to grab a package of frozen prepared Hatch Chili's at Trader Joes. They were flying out the door! I've never used them before and I can't find a heat index on them. Since I'm doing my chili rellano casserole tonight, and I've always used 14oz. of canned ortega peppers, I'm hopeful someone can help me out here. How hot are they, in comparison?

Kayelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2016, 07:47 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire

According to this page - http://ushotstuff.com/Heat.Scale.htm - Hatch chiles are between 5,000 and 6,000 on the Scoville scale. That's not very hot. I've grown Anaheim chiles in my garden, which are a variety of Hatch chiles grown in California. I think they're similar to the canned chiles.

Old 04-03-2016, 07:51 PM   #3
Master Chef

Whoa! Thanks for the quick response GG!! Now I can get in the kitchen and start dinner. I'm anxious to see how they work out with this.

I found this interesting. http://www.eatlikenoone.com/what-is-...im-peppers.htm

Old 04-03-2016, 08:30 PM   #4
Master Chef

I'm busy in the kitchen now so just getting in on this, but that's an interesting article, Kay. That's pretty much what I've heard about Hatch chiles, that it depends on the area and how the growing season is - hot and dry vs wetter, area, etc. When you say you got them frozen and 'prepared' from TJ's, did that mean they were roasted? Just curious - I'm really looking forward to how you liked them in your chile relleno casserole.
Old 04-03-2016, 08:53 PM   #5
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

I've heard so much about roasted Hatch chilis too. Looking forward to your report, Kay!
Old 04-03-2016, 09:02 PM   #6
Master Chef