ISO the best tempura batter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JustJoel

Executive Chef
I’m an expert on tempura. Eating it, that is. I’ve never made it, though, perhaps because of my lack of confidence in frying generally (although I’m getting much better), or perhaps because I’ve heard so many times how difficult it is, and that it’s just impossible to do well in a home kitchen. I know for a fact that it can’t be impossible; literally millions of Japanese housewives make it as a matter of course.

I’ve read many recipes for tempura batter. The basics seem to be 1. The water must be very cold. The flour must be very gently incorporated, to reduce the formation of gluten. Variations include using seltzer or adding vodka, using a mixture of flour and cornstarch, and using rice flour instead of cornstarch.

If you make tempura regularly, and it turns out between very good and near perfect every time, please share your secrets with me!

Also several recipes tend to suggest that a different batter is required for veggies and proteins, but I’ve never seen a chef prepare two different batters!

If you make tempura regularly, and it turns out between very good and near perfect every time, please share your secrets with me!

Well, I can only add that I've done tempura just a couple or three times so far and they've turned out good, but not very good, using Kikkoman Tempura Batter Mix where you just add cold water. I should do the batter from scratch next time to see the difference.

Well, I can only add that I've done tempura just a couple or three times so far and they've turned out good, but not very good, using Kikkoman Tempura Batter Mix where you just add cold water. I should do the batter from scratch next time to see the difference.
Here are the ingredients listed on the box of Kikkoman tempura batter: