"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > International Cuisines and Ethnic Cookery

Old 04-13-2005, 01:42 PM   #1
Chief Eating Officer

My First Curry Attempt

Tonight I am trying a few new things (for me). I am going to make a curry which I have never done before. I am also going to just make up a recipe out of my own little head. This is something I am not very good at yet, but I am trying to learn how to do it.

I have all of these items on hand so this is what I am thinking, but I would love suggestions from everyone here as well.

I have chicken breasts brining right now. I also have garlic, onion, potato, string beans, curry powder, coconut milk.

I was thinking of sauteing the garlic and onion to start. I would then add the curry powder and brown the chicken and set aside. Then adding the coconut milk and possibly some chicken stock along with the potatoes and cook covered until the potatoes are tender. Once the potatoes are just about done I would add the chicken back in to finish cooking and then the string beans. This would all be served over rice of course.

What are your thoughts? Does this sound like it will work? Are there any trouble spots you see or anything you would change?

Old 04-13-2005, 01:49 PM   #2
Head Chef

Sounds like a good start. Do you have carrots or some sort of sweet potatoes on hand? Vietnamese variations: You can put it over noodles w/ a blend of shredded romaine, matchstick cucumbers and bean sprouts for Vietnamese style. Or eat it w/ French bread. Note that Vietnamese curries tend to be more "watery" than other styles of curry. Also if you have a stalk of lemon grass, add that too. Beat the hard part before you add it to your stock and let it simmer. Good luck!

Old 04-13-2005, 01:55 PM   #3
Chief Eating Officer

I think I do have some carrots. Thanks for the great suggestions HTC!
Old 04-13-2005, 02:07 PM   #4
Head Chef