New Zealand Food

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Guiedo

Assistant Cook
I have been asked to post to this site some of what is going on in New Zealand restaurants and it is with pleasuree that I will do this because the more exposure our(New Zealand) food gets on the international stage the better, in my opinion.
First some details on me.
I have been a chef and or waiter for 16 years and have done every conscievable job in between, from kitchenhand to restaurant manager and from silver service to 2 person bistro style.
I am in the process of retraining into the tourism industry with the goal of organizing food tours through Europe, The Americas and through Asia or anywhere that there is ethnic cuisene of standard.
My main interest is in traditional ethnic foods of any area.

What I would like to do with this thread is post, when I get them, some of the things that are going on in NZ restaurants and compare them to what is happening in the international market. I would very much like it if others would join this spirit of "international sharing"

Helllo there from a Scottish member!

There is a Kiwi who posts on here called TheHummer, and some of the recipes have been really interesting.

This promises to be a very interesting thread!

Guiedo what are some of the newest or most prominent trends you are seeing in the NZ restaurant scene right now?

Guiedo, I'm looking forward to your recipes. So glad you are going to post them.

Please, post away! I have a step-sister who lives in Christchurch. She sent me a couple cookbooks on NZ cooking. I'd be really interested in many of the different things people do with lamb there, as I know it's a major product.

Thanks

Thanks for the level of interest shown already in this thread.