Trying to Cook Indian Daal Homestyle...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NavEats

Assistant Cook
Hi everybody!

So I'm a second year college student trying to recreate my mom's dal masoor and I'm not very pleased with my work! :( Here's the recipe my mom gave me...

-1 cup yellow dal
-3 cup water
-2 Teaspoon salt
-1/2 tablespoon mircha/ red chili powder I believe
-1 tbspoon vegetable oil
-1/2 teaspoon cumen seed
-1/2 tablespoon haldi

1) First wash dal and put water on boil.
2) When it's boiling, put clean dal in and let cook for 20 minutes. Put haldi, mircha, and salt in.
3) At 20 minutes, put oil and cumen seed in small sauce pan and begin to cook until simmering. Toss the oil and cumen in the dal and continue to boil until dal is fully cooked.

So I feel like my dal always turns out too salty and it's really dry. Like there's no liquid (so it's hard to eat with rice :()...can anybody with experience offer some tips? My mom laughs at me whenever I ask for help! :/

Simple. If it's too dry, just add more water. If it's too salty, add less salt.

I think your experience with your mother's recipe happens to everyone. When I first moved out of the house (many years ago), my mom gave me a few recipes. I found that most of her recipes also had way too much salt, or too much of this, or too little of that. They didn't taste like the way she cooked them at all. In fact, I thought she had given me the wrong recipes. When I asked her about it, she told me that, yes, they were her recipes but, no, she hadn't followed them in years. Instead, she used them as guidelines and that I should use my own taste buds to decide what they did or didn't need.