Egg Salad

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chef_corey

Assistant Cook
I love egg salad, my grandma (who is Hungarian) used to make it the best... im not sure if it was the best because she made it special or just because she made it....

Anyway i am attempting to make it for the first time... I am an accompished hobby chef (meaning i love to cook and have cooked a lot of stuff but am no pro) but have never made egg salad

Id love to hear some tip from people who make a mean egg salad... do i need to chill the hard boiled eggs in water before i cut them up? I think i remember Grandma doing that...

Any other ingredients that you think make YOUR egg salad special... or cooking techniques for that matter, would be appreciated!

thanks a lot,
C.

Your grandmother probably DID chill the hardboiled eggs -- it makes them so much easier to chop! Here's the most popular egg salad recipe for my family:

8 hardboiled eggs, chilled, shelled and chopped
1/2 red onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 to 1.5 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon fresh ground pepper
1 Cup Mayonnaise
1 teaspoon dijon mustard
4 strips bacon, crumbled fine

Add everything together in a large bowl and blend carefully.

I think she likely tossed the eggs in cold water to stop the cooking. The eggs will continue to cook if you don't immerse them in cold water and then you sometimes have that nasty dark ring on your yolks.

My grandmother (who was also Hungarian) overcooked her eggs. Yuck. The rest of her cooking was out of this world.

I make my egg salad like I make my deviled eggs. I use mayo (only Hellman's), pepper, paprika, and dry mustard.

Alix said:
Hey CC, how much dry mustard? I think I would like to try that.